Commissioners & Director

The Port’s commission is made up of three elected officials, serving six year terms.

Chairman, Commissioner Kenny Schutte
Port District #1
Kenny Schutte just began his fourth term as Port Commissioner, having first taken office in 2000. He is a local farmer and businessman and has sat on the boards of the Washington State Mint Council and the Federal Spearmint Marketing Order. Kenny is a past board member of CHS.
Commissioner Gary Weaver
Port District #2
Gary Weaver joined the Port of Othello as a Commissioner for District 2 in 2008. Gary has been a business owner for the past 30 years. He is experienced in crop insurance for 18 year and is a licensed pilot. Gary held a real estate license and has served on several Adams County Boards.
Commissioner Deena Vietzke
Port District #3
Deena Vietzke works as a full time office manager at a local potato packing plant. Born and raised in Othello. Deena was appointed to District 3 Commissioner in June of 2018 and is a past board member of Othello Planning Committee.
Executive Director Chris Faix
Executive Director
Chris Faix joined the Port of Othello as Executive Director in February of 2018. Chris moved to Othello from Illinois in 1981 and has lived here since then. Chris farmed for numerous years and then went to work for the Othello Police Department for 10 years prior to starting work at the Port. Chris is a member of the ACDC Board and a Rotary Member.
Executive Assistant, Carmon Derting
Carmon Derting joined the Port of Othello in August of 2019.  Carmon moved from Illinois to Moses Lake in 1989 where she has resided since.  She has been very active in the Grant/Adams County communities, working and volunteering in many compacities.

Duties of a Port Commissioner

A port commissioner is elected by the public and serves as a member of the port commission for a six-year term. The port commission is primarily responsible for:

  • Planning, Goal Setting, Evaluation
    The port commission helps plan the port’s future, and then guides the port’s activities in that direction. This planning process involves the port commission, executive director, port staff, customers and citizens/voters. The process usually includes identifying a port’s mission and goals, and developing strategies to achieve them. The port commission is ultimately responsible for evaluating and updating the planning process.
  • Port District Policy Making
    The port commission develops and adopts port district policies and governs operations. For example, developing guidelines for long-term economic development, establishing positions and employment policies, and adopting budgets.
  • Budgeting
    The port commission approves and adopts an annual budget. Some of the key budget decisions include authorizing and adopting tax levy amounts, adopting policies, and disposing and distributing supplies, property, and equipment.
  • Designating the Port’s Executive Director/Manager
    The port commission is responsible for recruiting, hiring and evaluating the performance of the port’s chief executive. The commission delegates responsibility to this port administrator, then respects that delegated authority.

Voting Districts:
Port Commissioner District No. 1:  Rural precincts 4, 7 + Othello precincts 1, 4, 6  
Port Commissioner District No. 2:  Rural precincts 1, 2, 3, 5
Port Commissioner District No. 3:  Othello precincts 2, 3 , 5

Othello, Weather
clear sky